TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
Can i return a string back to index.php from a controller?
  • Hey , First off I want to thank the Kohana dev team for creating such a good framework. I'm new to kohana and in general to the concept of frameworks and MVC.

Basically , I am using kohana 3.3 as a backend framework for my android app.

From index.php , I am creating a request to a controller. The controller works out its logic and gets an string containing a XML Document. I want to return this string back to index.php so that I can echo it.

This is necessary because, in android , I am capturing whatever the backend echo's (in xml format).

so is there a way to do this?

I'm a noob to kohana and this forum, so forgive me if I've asked something extremely stupid.

Thanks in advance.

• class Controller_Index extends Controller {

public function action_index()
        {
            // Your logic and calculate string and set to $xml

$this->response->body($xml);
        }
    }

Is that what you're after?

• And maybe add this line too: $this->response->headers("Content-Type", "text/xml");

• I think he is talking about a sub-request? Try the code below ... sometimes it gets strange when you are doing a request from inside kohana to another kohana controller

class Controller_Index extends Controller {

public function action_index()
        {
            $request = Request::factory('http://domain.com/some/other/controller');  
            $response = $request->execute(); // controller returns xml
            $this->response->headers("Content-Type", "text/xml"); // set the header
            $this->response->body($response); // return the xml back from index.php
        }
    }

• @chrisgo @nickg @Jack Thanks a lot guys!!

Your solutions worked for me!

Thanks for your time! Cheers!

Howdy, Stranger!