TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
code generator
  • I am quite new to kohana and i think it is a very good simple and clean framework.

Said that one of the things i fell most lack of is some code generation (like other fw out there) because all backoffice projects tend to have a lot of grids for displaying, filtering (...) data and a lot of forms for editing data. The time spent in generating the (almost same) code over and over before really starting serious developing is quite annoying (my opinion)...

so i wonder what good modules for this task are out there?

I am developing a code generator for kohana 3.3 (models, views, controllers) for my personal projects. The code generated can be easily costumized by changing the view templates. I don't know if this would be the best approach or if there is allready modules for this.

can be tested here: http://nunochaves.com/ko33demo/index.php/codegen

tell me what u think of this. thanks.

• Seems to egnerate quite a lot of code, can you describe briefly what does it generate? Seems like some sort of editing pages for the models

• it that example i costumized the controller and views code to generate a grid with jquery datatables plugin and a form in a lightbox. the views in the module are just templates and can be deleted or changed to suit different projects.

Controller

action_index() : display the grid header and whatever we want to add. action_browse() : ajax action that uses datatables module to retrive data from db. there should be one of this actions per grid in the page action_edit() : renders and handles form post calling model validation and model save action_delete() : ajax action to delete one record. called from the grid.

check out a demo here: http://nunochaves.com/ko33demo/index.php/admin/auth user: admin pass: admin