TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
Hello from a Codeigniter Refugee
  • Hi everyone,

My name is Dwayne and I am a developer from Australia. I've been developer for about 6 years now, I love what I do. I've been a user of Codeigniter for a few years now, but given the recent events of which Ellislab have decided to discontinue supporting the framework and look for a new owner, I've jumped ship due to the uncertainty. Kohana seemed like the logical choice, but I did consider other frameworks as well.

I was a pretty big advocate of Codeigniter up until recently. Publishing tutorials, open sourcing projects built on CI, writing numerous libraries and helpers. I am looking to do the same for Kohana, help people out on the forums, write tutorials, contribute to documentation and advocate this great framework. I am in this for the long haul and hopefully my contributions are seen as helpful to the community and future of the project itself.

• FuelPHP — It's future to me feels a little uncertain, I think this framework might die off soon.
    • Zend Framework — Way too heavy and complex for a framework
    • Symfony2 — Really nice, but feels a little too over the top for what I need in a PHP framework
    • CakePHP — The Ronald McDonald of PHP frameworks. Heavy, bloated and showing its age.
    • Laravel — A really nice framework, but feels once again, over the top and complicated for the sake of being complicated. The constant rewriting and API changes also deter me, I've heard Laravel 4 will put an end to constant rewriting, but given the history of this young framework, I decided to steer clear.