TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
Some Kohana advice required
  • Hello. I'm very new to Kohana, didn't even know about it until last week. I have been asked to look at this website (http://viaromance.com/) with the view of making some modifications to it. It has been built in Kohana.

The client has been advised that the site is pretty old and should be rebuilt, I think its was developed around 2009, and I think the current host (person responsible for developing it) may just not really want to get involved in it regarding modifications (I think they'd rather rebuild with something they know, from scratch, just taking a guess here), that's where I have been asked to step in to look at it. So my question is, bearing in mind that it has been built some time ago with a fairly early version of Kohana, is the rebuild issue valid? Are there general issues that will probably need to be addressed that are known about with earlier versions ( I know it's pretty hard to say without seeing the site first). And second, if no, is there anybody out there, preferably in New Zealand, that would be interested in doing the modifications required; these are, some basic content changes, some basic additions to the database, adding a "chat" feature for registered users to contact each other, and introduce a payment system that is tied into the chat feature.

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

• Right, so the site's using Kohana v2.2.

If I owned the site and could afford a rebuild, I would get one. Kohana 3 is beautiful, and it's so nice to work with, but then I never got 'properly into' v2 development, I only modified existing installations.