TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
Best way to pass an ORM object between controllers?
  • Hi, if anyone could please advise me on the below I would appreciate it - I'm new to Kohana and am open to suggestions.

I have Model_Group that extends ORM.

I have Controller_Group that gets a new ORM:

public function before()
    {
         global $orm_group;
         $orm_group = ORM::factory('Group');
    }

...and it has various methods that use it to get different subsets of data, such as...

public function action_get_by_type()
    {
        global $orm_group;
        $type = $this->request->param('type');
        $result = $orm_group->where('type', '=', $type)->find_all();
    }

Then I have another controller (in a separate module) that I want to use to manipulate the object and call the relevant view. Let's call it Controller_Pages.

$orm_object = // Get the $result from Controller_Group somehow!
    $this->template->content = View::factory( 'page1' )
        ->set('orm_object', $orm_object);

What is the best way to pass the ORM object from Controller_Group to Controller_Pages? I've looked at using Request/Response but I've got a feeling that's not the right way (and couldn't get it to work), so I'm thinking it would be better called via a static function. Is this a good idea? If not, why not, and what better way is there of doing it?

The reason for separating them out into different controllers is because I want to be able to re-use the methods in Controller_Group from other modules. Each module may want to deal with the object in a different way.

Many thanks, Steve

• How are you even going from Controller_Group to Controller_Pages?

Maybe you should create a base controller and create a method there ...

Controller_Base 
     {

public $orm_group;

}

Controller_Group extends Controller_Base