TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
Git workflows - maintaining base applications and accessing new patches
  • Not strictly KO related, but I hope it's OK to ask about this here anyway. I'm new to git, having used subversion for a long time for code control for my projects. I mostly develop alone, but collaborate with up to five others sometimes. The vast majority of my work is intranet or web application based, so the systems I use and develop have fairly intensive ongoing support available.

I'm wondering about two things. First, there are various files and in general a consistent base set of modules that I use for all my applications. Obviously the system and module files are fine as submodules as in the "working with git" page, but for files like the bootstrap, index, .htaccess, etc I'd like to be able to easily maintain all my applications against the latest stable kohana versions. I'd also like to be able to centrally track cross-application customisations - for example adding exception handling into bootstrap - so that all my projects can be kept consistent. I was thinking that the easiest way to do this might be to fork the Kohana template application to make my own template application, then fork that for each of my projects. That would then presumably allow me to merge in upstream changes from Kohana and my template app relatively easily while keeping application level changes (I would expect to do some manual conflict resolution). Some of my projects are closed-source, so I guess I'd need to work out how forking works outside github - I presume it's essentially just a clone with a remote repository setup? My closed-source stuff is generally things I use to make my day job easier and so it's not worth taking a paid github account.