TIP: Use Markdown or, <pre> for multi line code blocks / <code> for inline code.
These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
How to communicate with a Kohana programmer
  • Hi there, I'm new here. I used to work as a webdesigner, but not as a programmer. Now I'm planning to have an interactive website on my own and I would like to let it program by a php professional. For this purpose I already introduced my plans to a php programmer with ten years of work experience. She recommanded me Kohana for my project. So, I just believe in what she told me. Now my question is, how can I communicate properly with my programmer? And how can we work together in a team? I would like to do the design (css, html) after she has done the php. What kind of information does she need? She already talked about a function list. And how do I get my CSS into her PHP afterwards? Is it useful for me to have a basic knowledge about Kohana? And what exactly shall I learn to establish a good teamwork?

• Hello and welcome.

You may want to discuss which templating system is going to be used, that is to avoid mixing PHP and HTML code. Options are native Kohana views or a number of 3rd party systems, Mustache (via @zombor's Kostache module) is particularly popular among Kohana users.

The workflow generally depends on whether you're going to do the templates yourself or leave it in programmer hands.

Doing it yourself:

• You need to learn template language. Most of them are just HTML with more or less bits of extra something. in addition to that, most templating systems can have some sort of hierarchy, i.e. you have a 'base template' with basic HTML outline and placeholders to insert other items, such as main page content, menus, etc, which are also templates and may include further sub-templates.