These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
General usage and file placement
  • Sorry this might be a bit vague, I'm new to MVC in general and Kohana.

So I'm setting up my first app using Kohana 3.3, I have basic routing working, have my main pages with corresponding controllers and have a template working with views loading correctly for the main page.

One problem I have, and I don't know the best way to deal with it, is that some sections of my web pages are the same on each page, but are generated from the database. So for example I have a header with logo and static links, all in the template for now. I then have the main section of the page in the middle, which is generated dynamically by the controllers as dictated by the routing, but I also have two sidebars - one to the left and one to the right of the main page content. These sidebars are what needs to be the same for each page, but one is generated from the database (a list o product categories) and the other has shopping cart and user account information. So I don't want to add the code to generate these into the main controllers, as I would have to repeat that for each controller/page. So what is the best way to implement this?

I have figured out how to have each controller extend a main controller, and the main controller has a before() method which is working, but it feels wrong to put all the logic for the sidebars in there (currently is in APPATH/classes/controller/Base.php and all my other page controllers extend this controller, which itself extends Controller_Template).

So really my question is should I be doing something like calling another class from my base controller eg APPATH/classes/sidebarclass.php and put all my code for that there, or should it be somewhere else (in the Models? or what) ? ?