These forums are read-only and for archival purposes only!
Please join our new forums at discourse.kohanaframework.org
how to use Kohana with latin charset keeping utf-8?
  • Hi, i'm really new in using this framework and i'm having a lot of problem developing an application in a different language that is not english...

First i had to disable the inflector for ORM database because it doesn't work for table names in a different language (always add an s at the end of the table name), now i'm having a lot of problem in visualizing Latin letters like: èéàòìù ecc...

I tryed changing the locale to iso-8859-1 but it doesn't work and i don't want to use latin charset.

So how can i do to correctly visualize in utf-8 latin chars in a kohana project?

• What the..? UTF-8 should support those characters. Are you sure your DB is correctly configured (table/field charset etc.)?

• Hey @Synchro,

First i had to disable the inflector for ORM database

No need. Just override protected $_table_name in your ORM models.

• First thank you for all the tips. ;) About the utf-8 issue, the database querying is perfect and the echo of a tuple containing special char works. Special chars are not working when inserted "natively" in views as text. example: in the view "test.php" (the text mean "today is monday"):

oggi è  lunedì
    <?php echo $todaymsgfromdatabase; ?> 

The plain html is visualized wrong, the php from database is ok.

Do you have any suggestion?

• I may have the same - or related - problem. Can't compare with 3.3.0 as I didn't use it, but my foreign char handling worked perfectly in 3.2.2 and earlier.

MySQL db has the correct data - e.g. last name Gorme (that's e acute). Previously displayed correctly throughout. Now (3.3.1) initially displays as Gorm� then disappears completely when passed to another view.